Theatre to me is an art form that combines a performance’s individuality with creativity. I feel that stage design and technical theatre production really bring the performance together as it’s the magic behind the set that brings it to life.

My passion for theatre started at a very early age as all I aspired to be was an actress. From performing at school plays, to drama groups, to then being part of the Sheffield People’s Theatre at The Crucible three years running. During my first Crucible play, ‘Camelot The Shining City’, I was accepted into a work experience placement at the theatre where I was shown back stage of The Crucible and The Lyceum exploring everybody’s jobs and getting an insight into how the theatre is run. I have joined many workshops in the theatre which provided acting and theatre directing to learn through the process further of how these particular jobs work. Throughout my years of acting I gained valuable skills such as time management, communication skills and responsibility. Performing on stage has given me the insight to how a production runs, from the set design to configuring the lights arrangement, to sound design.

When starting my Film & TV production course I was then able to transfer these skills and apply them throughout the duration of the course. From studying Film & TV production I have also learnt how to apply technical skills to all types of productions such as, filming dance shows, music performances and even sport events. These technical skills range from designing the set, to setting the lights arrangements, to then filming and recording sound.

Alongside practical skills, the course gave me the opportunity to develop academic skills such as essay writing. This gave the chance to translate my ideas on paper, by both explaining and evaluating my work.  I also conducted research for my final film project.

I also developed communication skills by presenting my idea for a film to an audience. The film production helped me to implement my time management skills with meeting deadlines for each project I was involved in. I learnt how to use software that allowed me to create a title sequence and I also worked on a sound designing project, where I created all Foley to match a silent movie. At the end of the first year I was given my first major role in a group as the cinematographer of the first official film project. In which I worked alongside the director helping location scout, create storyboards and colour grade. For my second year of the course I will be creating my own independent film where each role you could imagine for the project I will be doing by myself.

Following my years of experience in acting and the theatre, and then a TV & Film production course, it’s clear to me my heart lays in theatre. With the wide range of skills I now have, I am able to see a production as a whole and I see my place as one of the team who brings a show together. I am aiming to expand my experience in stage management and theatre production as my main ambitions reside in these roles. I believe a good stage manager understands all aspects of the theatre including theatre directing, stagecraft and stage design.

With my skill set and my passion for the subject I believe I will be an ideal candidate for your course.  confide with every module I will study as no performance is made without the technicians