For the project of Kelham Island Museum I didn’t have one specific role as my team took part in every role there was. This way we all got a chance to work every operation available and progress on our weak points.

For composition and shot types I really feel as if I have progressed in this part from the last time around. I feel this way because when I was able to film certain aspects. I really enjoyed this part as I was able to get the hang of working the camera more, and I now feel a lot more comfortable with filming different shot sizes as I wasn’t to confident before. For example in the promotional video, I filmed one of the shots where there was a pan of the brick wall that says ‘City Of Sheffield’ in the stone garden and I feel I did a good job of this. Also as you can see in the shots I made sure the rule of thirds was applied I feel like I did a good job of this particular shots because it’s a smooth pan really capturing the aspect. Another shot that the rule of thirds was applied was the interview of the engineer. When looking at this shot from where the engineer has been placed you can see a clear rule of thirds. Also another shot is a MCU of a piece of metal circle thats says ‘LSD’ and by focusing carefully I really feel as if I made it stand against it’s background. A good shot I used in my video was of the lit up sign of ‘made in sheffield’ because you can clearly see leading lines was applied and it really captured the shot. Another shot I did was of a tilt of a was man. I tilted from the bottom so as the shot went on the wax figure was revealed. And I really as if I achieved doing this shot as the tilt revealed a figure that you were hoping to see. As I am still progressing in all areas but I felt like I achieved doing this shot. Another example is when I filmed a tilt shot in the Little Mesters street and I feel as if this shot was acceptable as I believe I followed all the rules and came out with a good shot. For every single shot it was important you made sure everything was in focus and by doing this it was vital that you zoomed in on one specific thing and it allowed you to see if the shot was in focus or not. There was various shots that stood out to me as well which were shots of the bar. I feel as if these stood out as they were all in clear focus and the colours used were which made them stand out and catch your eye. For instance there’s a shot inside the bar of beer taps that are visually pleasing. I feel like I did this for every shot but there might have been a few that I forgot to apply this method to. But I now know how important this is and will remember for the future. I was also happy to help any member of my team with the camera work as I felt confident in this area so I felt as if I could give a strong second opinion, and I feel as if I contributed this to our work.

For our pre-production paperwork we used logging sheets which allowed us to log important information on what we were capturing. For example when I was in the stone garden and a team member was taking a MS shot of a stone horse head, I would then right down ‘MS-stone horse head’ and also had to write how many times we shot this until we got the right shot. So when it came to editing there would be a number of which shot was the right one. I felt this was extremely important especially when it came to editing as the shots were then done for you, and you just had to find the right number. This time around I made sure everything was neat and tidy as it helps a lot when it comes to editing. However I now know for future reference when logging specific things down I need to name the place/object precisely otherwise it can be confusing for other people. I feel this is important to follow because when our tutors look at our logging sheets they should be able to just copy straight from the sheet, but this wasn’t the case this time around. I believe I worked well in this role because I remembered how to do it and was able to just get on with it without any trouble.

For the Audio none of the background noises were actually vital as for the video when it came to the editing part, we just put a backing song against the shots so it would have more of an affect. However I included an interview of an engineer in my video. So I then had to merge the audio and the recording which I remembered from last time of how to do this. I edited my video on premiere pro and I feel a lot more confident now as I know how to use everything but I am still learning. I wanted my video to at least include all parts of the museum so you’d really get a feel of what it was like. I wanted to structure it so when the video started you were outside of the museum and it took you throughout all the places. For example my video starts outside at the entrance and then takes you to the pub which is outside. It then takes you throughout the museum showing you what every part features. For editing this was an independent task which I felt happy about doing as I feel confident in this area. I felt I worked well in this area as I remembered quite a lot of key qualities. I am still learning as well so I did ask for help in some of the weak parts I didn’t understand, like when it came to removing audio and adding backing music.

It was important to keep ourselves and the public safe during our visit. So for ourselves we wore yellow RV vests so everyone was alert at who we were and to keep aware of us. Also you couldn’t lose us so if you were looking for a member it wasn’t hard to spot one of us. For the public we made sure we didn’t film anyone as that is extremely important and we made sure all of our equipment was out of the way so there was no safety hazards.I believe our team worked great together as everyone got on, there was no disagreements and everyone was really helpful towards each other. For example if someone wasn’t to sure everyone was happy to help. Everyone took part in every role there was so everyone was able to work on their strong and weak points which I thought was really helpful. There was a few complications, for example we weren’t entirely sure where everything was and we had some difficulties setting the camera up. We were able to find all the locations which enabled us to get our work done.  An example of our group working well together is how when any member would take a shot we would give group feedback on whether it was good enough or if we had to re-do the shot. By doing this I really feel as if we came together as a group and made it work. We also had help with our camera and was given a battery because it nearly ran out with all our footage on. However we overcame all of these complications and it all worked out in the end.

I believe what stood out the most with my video was how I edited it. Foe example at the start of my video I start of with a shot that catches your attention as it’s visually pleasing and then this makes you want to carry on watching. The start of the video starts of slow as that’s how the music is but once the music picks up with a certain beat I purposely but shots against to the beat. I really feel like I made this work and in my opinion it made you carry on watching because of how the music tied in with the shots. I picked certain shots to go against the beat because there was short clips that were of different objects and with these you only really needed a few seconds to look at them and that’s why I picked these certain shots to go against with the beat as it worked. When watching the video you can see at 00:23 the beat picks up and that’s where I made sure that the shots also picked up.

Overall I believe my video was very successful because I completed it all with the right footage and the right editing skills. I included everything I was meant to and I was pleased with the outcome. When watching my video I can clearly see that not all of it is up to the standards that I would have hoped. For example some of the shots I used like at the beginning of the tilt of the don engine you can clearly see that it isn’t smooth and quite shaky which makes the shot uneasy. Also at 00:33 because of how the music went I found it difficult to then make a shot go to the pace of this and in the end I couldn’t make it work so I left it how it was. And watching back I can clearly see this obvious mistake. However I do believe I made most shots go really well against the beat of the music as it changed. From watching it I can see that I also made it clear for people to see how I changed the shots against the music.